Is Your Pastor or Priest a Man of Action? Check Out Pastor Stephen Grant in, for example, MURDERER'S ROW: A PASTOR STEPHEN GRANT NOVEL and THE RIVER: A PASTOR STEPHEN GRANT NOVEL by Ray Keating

Pastor Stephen Grant?

Stephen Grant is the pastor at St. Mary’s Lutheran Church on eastern Long Island. Grant is one of the more unique second-career clergy around, as he once worked for the CIA. Besides theology, his interests include archery, golf, writing, classic films, the beach, poker, baseball, and history. Grant also knows his wines, champagnes and brews. Oh yes, he generally dislikes politicians, and happens to be an expert marksman with a handgun and a rifle, while being pretty handy with a combat knife as well.

Monday, December 21, 2015

An Advent for Religious Liberty ... for Christmas!

Why is AN ADVENT FOR RELIGIOUS LIBERTY: A PASTOR STEPHEN GRANT NOVEL a great Christmas gift? Well...

"This series is a more edifying and Christian-oriented spy/adventure series with a similar pace (and sometimes the vocabulary of the bad guys) as books by C. J. Box, Craig Johnson ... and the work of Tom Clancy... Ray Keating has a knack for writing on topics that could be pulled from tomorrow's headlines.  An atheist mayor-elect of NYC? I could envision that. Pastor Grant taking out a terrorist? I could see that."  - LHP Lutheran Book Review


Great Christmas Gift: Murderer's Row

Why is MURDERER'S ROW: A PASTOR STEPHEN GRANT NOVEL a great idea for a Christmas gift? Well...

"The author packs a lot into this frantically paced novel... a raft of action sequences and baseball games are thrown into the mix. The multiple villains and twists raise the stakes...  Stephen remains an engaging and multifaceted character: he may still use, when necessary, the violence associated with his former professions, but he at least acknowledges his shortcomings--and prays about it. Action fans will find plenty to love here, from gunfights and murder sprees to moral dilemmas."    - Kirkus Review


Christmas Gift: Root of All Evil?

Gift of Reading for Christmas: Ray Keating’s Pastor Stephen Grant Novels!

ROOT OF ALL EVIL? gets average Amazon rating of 4.5 stars.


Christmas Gift of Reading: The River

Why is THE RIVER: A PASTOR STEPHEN GRANT NOVEL by Ray Keating a great Christmas present? Well, there's this from Kirkus Reviews...

"A gritty, action-stuffed, well-considered thriller with a gun-toting clergyman."


Christmas Gift of Reading: Warrior Monk

Why would WARRIOR MONK: A PASTOR STEPHEN GRANT NOVEL be a good Christmas gift? Here are some reasons...

WARRIOR MONK: A PASTOR STEPHEN GRANT NOVEL made "The top 10 self-published books to cross WORLD's desk this year." WORLD magazine (June 29, 2013, issue) looked at more than 100 titles and then came up with a "final list of 10 that display clear writing and storytelling." On WARRIOR MONK, WORLD declared, "The 'warrior monk' in question is an ex-CIA agent who settled into life as a ... Lutheran pastor, saving lives and taking care of bad guys (who get saved)."


Monday, December 14, 2015

Thor, Flynn and Keating!

Readers who love Brad Thor and Vince Flynn are finding another favorite in Ray Keating’s Pastor Stephen Grant novels – MURDERER’S ROW, THE RIVER, AN ADVENT FOR RELIGIOUS LIBERTY, ROOT OF ALL EVIL? and WARRIOR MONK. And for a limited time, get each book for only $2.99 on the Kindle.

A Facebook reviewer and reader recently told Keating: “I'm a committed Brad Thor/Vince Flynn reader. As soon as I'm done with the latest I'm eagerly waiting for the next. After reading all of your novels, I must say, I cannot wait for the next one. I am now a committed Thor/Flynn/Keating reader. I think you have earned the right to be named among the best modern day mystery/drama authors. You have made this 24 year Navy Senior Chief and Lutheran a BIG FAN! Now go fulfill your vocation and write another ‘must read’!”

Christmas Gift: Root of All Evil?

Why is ROOT OF ALL EVIL? A PASTOR STEPHEN GRANT NOVEL a great Christmas gift idea? Well...

"Root of All Evil? is an extraordinarily good read. Only Ray Keating could come up with a character like Pastor Stephen Grant... As trouble mounts in this page-turner, Grant will need both skills - martial and theological - to punish evil and save the good. Even though the Bible says that it's the love of money which is the root of all evil, Grant will find that even a casual appreciation of the U.S. dollar is enough to corrupt church men, government officials, and foreign agents." - Paul L. Maier, author of A Skeleton in God's Closet, More Than A Skeleton, and The Constantine Codex

Thursday, December 10, 2015

Book of the Year 2015 Nominee: Murderer's Row

BOOK OF THE YEAR 2015 NOMINEE!!

Big news! My latest book – MURDERER'S ROW: A PASTOR STEPHEN GRANT NOVEL – has been nominated, along with nine other very noteworthy reads, for KFUO's BookTalk “Book of the Year” for 2015.

This is the second year in a row that I’ve had a book nominated, as THE RIVER: A PASTOR STEPHEN GRANT NOVEL was a finalist in 2014.

I’m very appreciative, especially given the Christian mission of KFUO.

In addition, you can get in on the voting, if you like. The following information is from KFUO:

BookTalk’s Book of the Year
Its that time again!
Vote for your favorite book to be named BookTalk’s 2015 Book of the Year! Email your vote to Contest@kfuo.org. Contest ends January 30th.

Thanks and God bless!


Monday, December 7, 2015

St. Ambrose in Warrior Monk

St. Ambrose is recognized on December 7 in parts of Christianity. The St. Ambrose Retreat House is a central location in Ray Keating's WARRIOR MONK: A PASTOR STEPHEN GRANT NOVEL. Here's a brief excerpt from the book when Pope Augustine comes face to face, if you will, with the statue of Ambrose...

      Grant was now following the Pope, his aides and security entourage up the staircase in the castle’s main lobby.
      Augustine stopped at the statue of St. Ambrose, and gazed at it. As this continued for several seconds, a silence descended in the large chamber. The Pope said, “He was interesting, St. Ambrose. During a tumultuous time of disagreement in the latter part of the fourth century, he tried to keep peace among Christians in Milan. And he was not even baptized when clergy and the people called for him to become the bishop. He did not want the job, but finally acquiesced, was baptized, and eight days later became the bishop. He would be one of the great Latin Doctors of the Church. And as we talk about the Church’s role in the public arena now, it is worth recalling that Ambrose previously was a lawyer and politician who came to be a powerful voice in the Church for celibacy and voluntary poverty. If that happened today, few, I think, would doubt the transformative power of faith in our Lord.” The Pope smiled, and most everyone else joined in with his infectious laugh.

Sunday, December 6, 2015

Kindle Sale on Thrillers Featuring Former CIA and Current Pastor

Take advantage of the big Kindle sale, and start enjoying Ray Keating’s Pastor Stephen Grant novels featuring a former Navy SEAL, onetime CIA operative, and current pastor. For a limited time, only $2.99 each for Kindle versions.


Santa Loves the Pastor Stephen Grant Novels

BIg endorsement from Santa Claus, who says, "Ray Keating's Pastor Stephen Grant novels make for the perfect Christmas gifts. In fact, after reading The River and Murderer's Row, I've asked Mrs. Claus for the first three books in the series."


Friday, December 4, 2015

Kindle Sale on "Great Novelist"

The host of KFUO’s “BookTalk” calls Ray Keating “a great novelist.” And for a limited time, each of Keating’s thrillers – MURDERER’S ROW, THE RIVER, AN ADVENT FOR RELIGIOUS LIBERTY, ROOT OF ALL EVIL? and WARRIOR MONK – is available for only $2.99 for Kindle version.